Choir of Young Believers

 Choir Of Young Believers is een Deense band uit Kopenhagen. De band is een muzikaal project van zanger en gitarist Jannis Noya Makrigiannis en bestaat uit een wisselende samenstelling van musici.
Het nummer Hollow Talk werd gebruikt als titeltrack van de Scandinavische politieserie The Bridge.
Makrigiannis overleed in december 2022 na een kort ziekbed op 39-jarige leeftijd.
After the breakup of his previous band, Lake Placid, in 2006, Makrigiannis moved to the Greek island of Samos and began developing his own solo material. Upon his return to Copenhagen, Makrigiannis gathered musicians and friends to form Choir of Young Believers. The group released the EP Burn the Flag in 2007, with the single "Sharpen Your Knife" receiving heavy play on Danish Radio. In September 2008, the band released its first full length album, This Is for the White in Your Eyes, which was nominated for six Danish Music Awards and won the "Best New Act" category.
COYB performed at the 2009 SXSW music festival, after which it was signed to US label Ghostly International who released This Is for the White in Your Eyes in North America on 18 August 2009. The next album released was Rhine Gold in March 2012. The band's third studio album, Grasque, was released on 19 February 2016.
Members: Jannis Noya Makrigiannis: vocals, guitar, piano, bass, keyboard, percussion (died 2022); Cæcilie Trier: cello, backing vocals; Jakob Millung: bass; Bo Rande: brass instruments, keyboard, backing vocals; Sonja Labianca: piano; Lasse Herbst: percussion; Casper Henning Hansen: drums, percussion; Aske Zidore: guitar, production; Anders Rhedin: keyboard, drums, guitar, percussion, backing vocals (until 2008); Mette Sand Hersoug: violin, flute, backing vocals (until 2008); Fridolin Nordsø: bass, drums, percussion, trumpet, flute, keyboard, backing vocals (until 2008); Nicolai Koch: piano (until 2008); Frederik Nordsø: percussion (until 2008).

HvD home